Skip navigation Jump to main navigation

Fall 2024 applications are now open.

Close alert

CSPA Names Logan Aimone the 2024 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year

NEW YORK, NEW YORK (February 16, 2024) The Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) is pleased to announce that Logan Aimone has been named the 2024 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year.

The 2023-2024 school year marks Aimone’s 20th year as an instructor and 27th in journalism education. Presently he teaches journalism and advises the newspaper staff at the University of Chicago Laboratory High School in Chicago, Illinois. Previously, Aimone taught at Wenatchee High School in Washington state and has served in leadership roles at the National Scholastic Press Association, Associated Collegiate Press, in addition to his work at School Newspapers Online, where he guided and supported news staff across the country in digital publishing. 

“I am so humbled to receive this honor and thank my colleagues and mentors who helped me throughout my career, and of course my many students, too,” Aimone said. “I look forward to working with CSPA and others to draw attention to important issues at a challenging time for journalism and education.”

The National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year Awards program is managed and sponsored by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association of Columbia University in the City of New York and co-sponsored by Dow Jones News Fund. Twenty-four instructors were considered for the award by a panel of four judges. 

In addition to Aimone, CSPA named the following honorees: 

Distinguished Advisers:  
Andrew Chambers, Horse Creek Academy, Aiken, SC
Justin Daigle, Brighton High School, Brighton, CO
Leland Mallett, Legacy High School, Mansfield, TX

Special Recognition Advisers:
Louisa Avery, American School in London
Sandra Coyer, Puyallup High School, Puyallup, WA
So Hee Tan, Walnut High School, Walnut, CA
Sergio Yanes, Arvada High School, Arvada, CO

Said CSPA Director Jennifer Ha, “All these instructors exemplify scholastic journalism and have distinguished themselves through their extraordinary dedication to their students and their craft. We are grateful that our students are being led by such an incredibly talented pool of instructors.” She continued, “CSPA also wishes to thank the Dow Jones News Fund for their continued support of this important program that recognizes our heroes in the classroom.”

The awards will be presented at the CSPA Spring Convention at Columbia University in New York City on Thursday, March 14, 2024.


Founded in 1925, the Columbia Scholastic Press Association unites student editors and faculty advisers working with them who produce student newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and online media. Students come from public, private and faith-related schools and colleges throughout the United States and from overseas schools following an American plan of education. The Association is owned and operated by Columbia University.

The Dow Jones News Fund is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that promotes careers in journalism in the digital age. Our vision is robust news media staffed by well-trained, innovative journalists who reflect America’s diversity and are dedicated to a free, strong and fair press. The News Fund is supported by Dow Jones, Dow Jones Foundation, other media companies and private donations.