Skip navigation Jump to main navigation

Fall 2024 applications are now open.

Close alert

Columbia Scholastic Press Advisers Association

Founded in 1927, the Columbia Scholastic Press Advisers Association (CSPAA) is a professional organization of teachers and advisers devoted to the development of the student press in accordance with educational practices. 

Its purposes include: to function as an autonomous unit of the CSPA; to foster the interests and promote the professional status of student publication advisers; to encourage sympathetic teamwork between faculty advisers (as the official representatives of their publications) and their school administrators and the communities; to inaugurate and publish studies of issues relevant to student publications as well as pamphlets, bulletins, and monographs for advisers.

Board seats are for two-year terms. During the last six months of a term, a nominating committee is formed to create a slate of candidates. CSPAA then meets during the annual spring convention to vote on the candidates. The new board takes office at the conclusion of the spring convention.

Meetings are held annually at the March CSPA Convention and at the November CSPA Conference.

CSPAA Headquarters and Mailing Address
Columbia University
90 Morningside Drive, Suite B01
New York, NY 10027-6902.

CSPAA Leadership
Jenny Dial Creech
St. Mark's School of Texas (Dallas)

Wanda Vanish
First Vice President for Membership
Altoona Area High School (PA)

Bretton Zinger
Second Vice President for Conventions
New Bedford High School (Newton, MA)

Michael Simons
Immediate Past President, Chair of Committee on Honors
Corning-Painted Post High School (Painted Post, NY)

Kathleen Zwiebel
Chair of Committee on Judging Standards
Pottsville, PA

Mark Murray
Chair of Committee on New Technology
Santa Fe, NM