Skip navigation Jump to main navigation

Fall 2024 applications are now open.

Close alert

CSPA National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year Award

National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year Logan Aimone with 2023 Honoree Debra Klevans, Photo by Mark Murray

Honoring Our Advisers

2023 Teacher of the Year Debra Klevans interviews 2024 award recipient Logan Aimone at a special luncheon honoring award winners at the CSPA 100th Annual Spring Convention. March 14, 2024. 

A critical part of supporting journalism students is supporting their advisers. And as well, recognizing their exemplary work.

The CSPA National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year Award Program recognizes a high school educator who teaches innovative media techniques, mentors students to produce award-winning journalists, and encourages students to consider media careers. Along with the Teacher of the Year, eight additional high school teachers and media advisers who go beyond the call of duty are selected as Distinguished Advisers and Special Recognition Advisers. This is the fourth year that CSPA will take the lead role in the promotion, selection, and ultimately the recognition of the winners, with Dow Jones News Fund's support as a co-sponsor.

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association will select one 2024 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year based on their work during the 2022-2023 academic year. Sixty-four teachers previously have been honored with this achievement since 1960.

The National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year receives numerous honors, including:

  • A plaque commemorating their achievement
  • An iPad tablet and Apple Pencil
  • Admission to four spots at the CSPA Summer Workshop, in classes of their choice

The Teacher of the Year will participate in an interview with the prior year’s Teacher of the Year at the CSPA Annual Spring Convention, which will be available through CSPA’s media channels.

Distinguished Advisers receive:

  • A plaque 
  • Admission to two spots at the CSPA Summer Workshop, in classes of their choice

Special Recognition Advisers receive:

  • A plaque 
  • Admission to one spot at the CSPA Summer Workshop, in classes of their choice

Eligibility Requirements
At least three years of experience; while not necessary, please note any award recognition for including lifetime achievement or by any local, state, or regional organizations

Current membership in the Columbia Scholastic Press Association is NOT a prerequisite for nomination or award.

How to Apply 
Candidates are asked to complete the online application to enter. Professional media and press associations are invited to forward candidates from their competitions, however the application must be completed for consideration. The online application will request electronic submission of the following:

  • Up to three letters of support
  • An updated résumé
  • A color headshot, (120 x 120 pixels), uploaded as a JPEG or TIFF file

After submitting your application, we will ask you to send six copies of what you consider to be your single best newspaper/newsmagazine issue from the 2022-2023 academic year to CSPA

The deadline to apply for the 2024 Teacher of the Year closed on December 15, 2023.

Program History
DJNF originally established the program in 1960, as the National Newspaper Teacher of the Year,  to honor each year an outstanding high school media teacher or adviser. For decades, CSPA was a co-sponsor of the program, featuring the Teacher of the Year at an advisers luncheon during its Spring convention, providing accommodations, promoting the program, and inviting honorees to present sessions. In 2017, DJNF transferred the management of the program to CSPA and became a co-sponsor.

Immediate Past Recipients:

2024: Logan Aimone, University of Chicago Laboratory School
2023: Debra Klevens, Parkway West High School; Ballwin, Missouri
2022: David Ragsdale, Clarke Central High School, Athens, Georgia
2021: Ray Westbrook, St. Mark's School of Texas, Dallas, Texas

(Photo: Mark Murray)